Interview with Ava Jae, author of Beyond the Red

1. Are you a plotter or do you write whatever is in your head?

I’m definitely a plotter, though I use my outline more as a guideline than a strict rulebook. I’ve been known to deviate from my outline and my characters frequently surprise me while I’m writing.

2. Can you tell us a little about your book?

Sure! Beyond the Red is a YA Sci-Fi about an uprising on a distant planet that threatens the reign of a teen alien queen. It takes place in a world surrounded by waves of crimson sand, where humans are at the bottom of the totem pole, and there’s nanotechnology, assassination attempts, explosions and kissing. (For a full description, you can check it out here.) Goodreads: Beyond The Red

3. Is it part of a series or a standalone book?

Beyond the Red is currently a standalone, but I have ideas for a sequel that I’d be delighted to pursue. We’ll see what happens. 🙂

4. Do you listen to music while writing or do you require silence?

I listen to music. Silence is tricky to come by in my household so I usually put on my noise-canceling headphones and let the music drown out everything else.

5. Who was your inspiration for your main character?

Er, no one? I don’t think I’ve ever based a character off someone—though I’ve occasionally found models/actors/etc. who look similar to how I picture the character. In this case, though, the only image I had for Eros while writing was one I built up in my head. Though I sort of pictured Kora similar to some random model I found online, but neither of them were inspired by any one person.

6. Are you working on your next book?

Yup! I’ve got a couple unrelated projects I’m working on. I’m always working on my next book. 🙂

Ava Jae is a YA and NA writer, an Assistant Editor at Entangled Publishing, and is represented by Louise Fury of The Bent Agency. Her YA Sci-Fi debut, BEYOND THE RED, is releasing March 2016 from Sky Pony Press. When she’s not writing about kissing, superpowers, explosions, and aliens, you can find her with her nose buried in a book, nerding out over the latest X-Men news, or hanging out on her blogTwitterFacebooktumblrGoodreadsInstagram, or YouTube channel.

Inline image 1

-Ava Jae

YA & NA writer

Author of BEYOND THE RED (Spring 2016)

Blog | Twitter | Facebook|Goodreads | Instagram | YouTube

Leave a Reply

