Interview with Camryn Garrett

1. Who are your auto buy authors?
The authors that I’ll automatically buy books from are Laurie Halse Anderson, A.S. King, Lauren Oliver, Jason Reynolds, Hannah Mocowitz, and Jodi Picoult.
2. How long have you been blogging about books?
I don’t have a specific book blog, but I’ve been blogging in general for two years.
3. In your opinion, what needs to change about YA?
In my opinion, there needs to be a change in diversity in YA. I see it happening and it gets me really excited, but it still needs to continue. It’s not enough to just have diverse characters. We need diverse authors, editors, and booksellers as well.
4.  How do you feel authors can make their books more diversified?
Um, I think that authors could look to other people and try to do extensive research. I think it really comes down to being realistic. You don’t see ten copies of the same person walking down the street everyday, and that isn’t how the world should be in your book.
Unless you’re writing a fantasy. Or…a dystopian, or something.
5. What do you want to see more of in books?
Um, again with the more diversity. I like to see books that actually sound like they were written around this time. What I mean by that is people mentioning cell phones and Tumblr and things like that. I know that a lot of people don’t want to date their books, but I usually let out a little squeal when I see stuff like that.
6. What book trends do you think are over?
Um, dystopia is totally over. I think we’re moving past the damsel in distress a bit, too.
Leave a Reply

