Interview with Shannon Grogan, author of From Where I Watch You + Giveaway

1. Can you tell us a little about your debut novel?

From Where I Watch You is a creepy YA thriller set in Seattle, Washington. My sixteen-year-old MC Kara has been through a lot with family betrayal, the death of her sister and the collapse of her family and home life. Kara sees her sister’s ghost hanging around, and her mom has turned into a holy roller, selling pea soup (that will heal your soul) in her café. On top of all of it is the person stalking her, leaving her creepy notes. Kara just wants to escape it all. She has dreams to be a professional baker someday and thinks that winning a national baking contest and it’s culinary school scholarship will help her escape all of it.

2. Is it a standalone book or part of a series?

This is a standalone book.

3. Who inspired your main character?

The story started with Kara’s nut job mom. She came first and I needed a MC who wanted to escape her and her crazy. I’ve always loved baking, and have always wanted to open a bakery/bookstore/espresso place so I thought it would be a fun goal to give Kara. I’ve always been artsy/crafty and I went to art school right out of high school so I decided when I started writing I’d try to give all of my MCs creative talents and goals.

4. Are you a plotter or do you just write whatever is in your head?

I plot. I have tons of notes about the story before I start writing it. It’s a good excuse to buy another notebook 😉 I use a plotting method based on W-Plot and Save the Cat. Very visual! I get out all the color Sharpies and every character and plot point get their own color! From this I work up a quick outline to keep me on track while I get the first draft bones down. This also helps later on when you finish and need to write the dreaded synopsis!

I tried the index card thing on the cork board but it’s too big for me. I need it all in one smaller place.

5. Do you require silence when writing or do you need background noise?

I need a little background noise, but nothing too distracting like music. It’s weird because the first novel I wrote (that went nowhere) I wrote entirely to music and since then I need more quiet.

6. Are you writing your next book?

Yes! It’s getting close to being finished. Another YA thriller.

 

BIO: Shannon Grogan is a second grade teacher who writes at night (and while her kids are at ballet and baseball) in a small logging town east of Seattle. She holds degrees in education, and graphic design/Illustration. When she isn’t writing, she’s baking, reading, watching scary movies, and wishing she were at the beach. You can find out more about her online at www.shannongrogan.com

Purchase From Where I Watch You at:

B&N | Amazon US | Indiebound | BAM! | Powells

Giveaway (US ONLY)

Rafflecopter giveaway

Leave a Reply

