Interview with Janet B. Taylor, author of Into The Dim

1. Can you tell us a little about your book? Is it your debut novel? 25897792

Of course, Tanya! First I want to thank you so, so much for inviting me to BookishBabes!! It’s a fantastic YA blog and I’m so honored to be here! You really ARE a rocking chick! 🙂
Umm…Fair warning: I’m Janet, and I’m an exclamation point addict. Only in emails and posts, though!! (Oddly, there are less than 10 in my entire novel.) But otherwise….Woo boy, I just can’t control myself!!!!! 🙂

Into the Dim is my debut novel. It’s YA Adventure/Time Travel, about a girl named Hope Walton, who is most decidedly NOT a bad-ass. Nope. Not a sword/bow/gun-wielding bone in her whole body. She’s actually a big old sweaty mess when the story opens at her mother’s memorial service. Hope–who by the way possesses an eidetic (photographic) memory–is the only one who believes her mom is still alive. She has good reason. But after eight months, even her dad is moving on.
Plagued with a myriad of phobias, Hope reluctantly accepts an invitation to spend the summer at her aunt’s home in the Scottish Highlands. There, she learns the truth about her mom’s entire family. They are part of a secret society of time travelers called Viators, (which is Latin for traveler). Hope’s mom isn’t dead. She was ambushed by a rival family, and abandoned in London, in the year 1154.
To save her, Hope must conquer her numerous fears and join the Indiana Jones-ish crew of Viators, as they head back to the age of King Henry II and Eleanor of Aquitaine, in a desperate mission to free Hope’s mom before she’s lost for good.

2. Are you a plotter or a free writer?

I wrote ITD as a total and complete Pantser. Had NO idea what I was doing. I work in health care. My degree is in Biology. I don’t have an MFA in creative writing, as do so many fabulous authors. I wish I did. I admire those folks who work so hard for an advanced degree.
However, for Book II in the Dim Series, I’ve become a convert. Total. Plotter. (I’ve found it’s so much easier to have at least some idea where you’re headed.)

3. Is your book part of a series or a standalone?

Into The Dim is the first book in a series.

4. Do you require silence when writing or do you listen to music?

Yeah, I get too involved in the music. Plus, certain songs make me dance. I don’t want to, it’s a compulsion. And…I can assure you that it is sight no human should ever, ever have to witness. Even my dog can’t look me in the eye afterward.

5. Are you writing your next book? Can you share a little about it?

Yes!! I am currently working on the second book in the Dim Series. It is still untitled, so I’m using the super-original and creative title: ‘Book II.’ It will follow Hope and the Viators as they continue their journeys to significant dates throughout history.

6. How long were you writing before getting a publishing contract?

During Thanksgiving, 2010, I walked into the living room, and said to my husband, “I think I’m going to write a book.” Like the awesomeness that he is, he said, “Cool, what can I do to help?”
That took me about six or seven months. Then…I realized how very, very much I didn’t know. A myriad of craft classes. Hundreds of writing books, blogs, online courses. Several other novels I started, but didn’t finish. And gazillion, bajillion edits later, I won the 2013 #PitchWars, which is a Twitter-based writing contest, put on by author Brenda Drake. My mentor, the insanely-talented author, Heather Webb, picked me out of over 1,500 entries, and after a few months of editing, I ended up with the most agent requests in the final round. Shortly after that, I signed with rock-star agent, Mollie Glick.
We worked on the book together for several months. In Oct. 2014, we went on submission. Two and a half weeks later, we went to auction. I was soo lucky! I ended up signing with my top choice, Senior Editor Sarah Landis at Houghton Mifflin Harcourt for Young Readers.

7. When does your book release?

Into The Dim debuts on March 1st, 2016!!! And I sure hope you guys will like it!

Tanya, Once again, I just want to say how much I appreciate you having me on BookishBabes.com! You are awesome!
Rock on! 🙂

 

Bio

Janet Taylor lives in such a small town in Arkansas that if you happen to sneeze when you pass by, you’ll totally miss it. (Cause, you know, you can’t sneeze with your eyes open. For real–try it–it’s impossible)

9809333Her debut novel, INTO THE DIM (coming 3/1/2016 from Houghton Mifflin Harcourt) is about a 16 year old girl who travels through time. Totally on purpose and stuff.

She’s a reader/fan first and a writer second. She lives with her fantastic husband, two hilarious sons, and Dorda the diabetic dog who won’t win any beauty contests, but has a “nice personality”.

She would think you’re the coolest thing since AC on a hot day if you’d like her on Facebook. Follow her on Twitter or visit her web site. And if you felt like adding INTO THE DIM to your Want to Read well golly! She’d probably come over to your house and do cart-wheels on your front lawn. (probably)

(PS-check out the bracelet on Janet’s pic. That’s a teeny-tiny Tardis. Uh, Whovian much?)

Leave a Reply

