Interview with Robin Reul, author of My Kind Of Crazy

1. Can you tell us a little about your book? Is it your debut novel?

My upcoming contemporary YA debut is called MY KIND OF CRAZY, pitched as FREAKS AND GEEKS meets THE SPECTACULAR NOW. After his promposal (literally) goes up in flames, down-on-his-luck Hank strikes up an unusual friendship with the sole witness to this epic disaster, a budding pyromaniac, who is struggling with her own darkness and thinks he may be a kindred spirit. It’s got a lot of humor and heart, but it also deals with some pretty serious issues.

2. Are you a plotter or a free writer?

I am a total pantser when it comes to writing. I usually start with characters and a setting, and then I have to figure out what the story is they want to tell. Often I don’t really know the twists and turns the story is going to take until I’m writing them. Therefore, outlines feel restrictive to me, because I would tend to veer wildly off course by the end.

3. Is your book part of a series or a standalone?

This book is a stand alone, but that’s not to say I would never consider writing a sequel.

4. Do you require silence when writing or do you listen to music?

Generally, I prefer to write in silence, but when I have no choice but to write in public or there are things going on around me at home, I have this wonderful waterfall track that I listen to that my writer friend Jessica Brody gave me years ago. It effectively blocks out all the sound without being distracting. Though I always make playlists for my books, I use them more when I’m driving in the car to get me thinking about the story and where I want it to go.

5. Are you writing your next book? Can you share a little about it?

I am working on about four different projects right now, and my editor and I are gearing up to discuss which one is the right one as a follow up to MY KIND OF CRAZY, so I can’t say much more, but it will also be a YA contemporary. Stay tuned!

6. How long were you writing before you got a publishing contract?

I’ve been writing my whole life, but I started to really focus on it about six years ago. It basically took six years, three books, two agents, and hundreds of rejections before that wonderful, magical yes.

7. When does your book release?

Currently my book is slated for publication April 5, 2016.

 

Bio

14073855My name is Robin Reul, and I’m a YA author represented by Leigh Feldman at Leigh Feldman Literary. I write contemporary YA fiction, and in my spare time I love to foster my Facebook addiction, drink copious amounts of caffeine and enjoy my good standing as an equal opportunity cupcake lover.

(Taken from Robin’s website)

Leave a Reply

