Interview with Kathryn Purdie, author of Burning Glass

1. Can you tell us a little about your book? Is it your debut novel?

BURNING GLASS is a young adult fantasy about a girl who is forced to sense other people’s feelings to guard the emperor against assassins. When a growing rebellion arises, she must choose to either betray the emperor who trusts her or his mysterious brother, the crown prince. And, yes, BURNING GLASS is my debut novel!

2. Are you a plotter or a free writer?

I’m a plotter! I usually write the story’s pitch, map out the most important plot points, and create a detailed synopsis before I start drafting. But I’m not afraid to veer directions once I dig in. I change up plenty of things as my main character comes to life and takes over the story.

3. Is your book part of a series or a standalone?

BURNING GLASS is the first in a trilogy.

4. Do you require silence when writing or do you listen to music?

I prefer writing with music, but it has to be instrumental. I love to sing, so I just want to sing along otherwise! The best music for me to write to is film soundtracks. I wrote most of BURNING GLASS while listening to the film score for BELLE by Rachel Portman.

5. Are you writing your next book? Can you share a little about it?

My next book is the second in the series, which I’m currently drafting. I can’t say anything about it without spoiling it, but I will say my main character, Sonya, is still reckless and defiant and causes trouble wherever she goes, despite her best intentions.

6. How long were you writing before getting a publishing contract?

I’ve written since I was a teenager, though that was mostly poetry and journal writing. But I wrote in pursuit of publication for five very intense years before I signed my contract for the BURNING GLASS trilogy. BURNING GLASS was my fourth manuscript.

7. When does your book release?

March 1, 2016!

 

BiowebEdit-10edited

Kathryn’s love of storytelling began as a young girl when her dad told her about Boo Radley while they listened to the film score of To Kill a Mockingbird. In high school and college, Kathryn focused on acting, poetry, guitar, and extensive journal writing. Years later, when she was in recovery from donating a kidney to her brother, inspiration for her first novel struck. She’s been writing darkly fantastical stories ever since.

Twitter: @kathrynpurdie

Leave a Reply

