Interview with S.M. Carrière, author of Ethan Cadfael

1. Can you tell us a little about your debut novel?ECBP 

I can! The first novel I published was an urban fantasy set in my current home of Ottawa (the capital city of Canada) entitled Ethan Cadfael: The Battle Prince. It’s a fun romp through Ottawa and the Otherworld. I had a lot of fun writing it. I hope people have a lot of fun reading it. If anyone’s interested, you can find the book on Goodreads here:
https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/16061327-ethan-cadfael

2. Is it a standalone book or part of a series?

Ethan Cadfael is very much a stand alone book, though there is a possibility to write more in the world. I haven’t come up with a story in the same world yet, though.

3. Who inspired your main character?

That’s actually a tough question. There really isn’t just one person who inspired either Ethan or Aerfyn. They really are just a combination of traits that I’ve noticed in various people. Two other characters, though, were inspired by their namesakes; the two cops Bill and Ginny are based on people I know in real life. It was fun writing them into the book. And my flatmate makes an appearance too. Hers was supposed to be just a simple cameo, but ended up being quite a bit more involved in the story that I had planned.

4. Are you a plotter or do you just write whatever is in your head?

I’m a vague mix of plotting and pantsing… mostly pantsing if I’m honest. Before I sit down to write, I have the main character(s) and the ending of the story. Then I just write. It’s an interesting way to write, as I’m often discovering the story and the characters almost as a reader would. I often describe the process like this:
It’s as if the ghost of a character come to me and says, “I am [insert character name], and this is my story.” It’s quite weird.
I cannot plot extensively. I wish I could. The story, alas, often has other ideas.

5. Do you require silence when writing or do you need background noise?

The only noise I like to have when writing is music. If that is not an option, then I prefer silence to anything else. I can’t write with a thousand conversations happening around me. It’s far too distracting.

6. Are you writing your next book?

I have written several books since Ethan Cadfael: The Battle Prince, actually. There is a two volume series (The Seraphimé Saga) that was finished and published last year. This year, I’m releasing a supernatural thriller entitled Human. Human eBook CoverShameless plug: It’s currently up for pre-order. You can check it out here:
http://www.smcarriere.com/human.html
It will be released on Hallowe’en this year.
I’m also currently editing another story for release next year called Sky Road Walker. It’s a high fantasy, and sales of the book will be donated to a local charity which helps kids get the supplies they need for school, and also gives out Christmas hampers to families in need. It’s a wonderful charity that does important work. This was really the only way I could think of to help support them.
AND I’m halfway through writing a historical fiction centring on the daughters of the British warrior queen Boudicca and the fight for British freedom against Roman occupation. I’m very excited about that one, though I have no idea when that will be finished. Hopefully soon!

Bio

Born in 1983 and raised in various countries around the globe, S.M. Carrière has always felt drawn to epic tales of heroes and villains. An avid reader herself and despite always writing, she did not think of becoming an author until her final year of university, when she found herself 4101956compelled to the craft (when she ought to have been studying). She self-published her first title, The Dying God and Other Stories, in 2011 at the urging of a friend, and has not stopped since, publishing one book each consecutive year.

Falling in love with speculative fiction was easy for S.M. Carrière, and she has since become very involved in the speculative fiction community in her current city of residence. Ottawa. She founded Silver Stag Entertainment to share her love of genre books and films and can be frequently seen on that youtube.com channel discussing them.

Not content with merely writing, and ‘youtubing,’ S.M. Carrière has also indulged her love of fine art, picking a paint brush up for the first time in many years in 2014. Her portfolio of drawings and paintings grows steadily.

S.M. Carrière is also an avid martial artist, studying Northern Mantis Kung Fu and Chinese Kickboxing with Wutan Canada, and taking up western equestrian martial arts when she has the time.

And, after all of that, if she has a moment or two, she can be found curled up with a hot cup of tea, a meaty red wine or a smooth whiskey and enjoying a good book… or playing the Xbox.

Leave a Reply

