Interview with Amy McNulty, author of Nobody’s Goddess

1. Can you tell us a little about your book? Is it your debut novel? 20561819

Nobody’s Goddess, book one in the Never Veil Series, is my debut YA romantic fantasy. It has its origins in my love for Byronic heroes, masked men and willful, stubborn young women who fight hard for what they believe is just, even when they’re not always right. (Like Elizabeth Bennet in Pride and Prejudice.) I’d seen books in which women were forced to marry or become “breeders” for men in dystopian-like settings, but I hadn’t seen many (any?) in which the men were forced to be with women. As my blurb explains:

In a village of masked men, magic compels each man to love only one woman and to follow the commands of his “goddess” without question. A woman may reject the only man who will love her if she pleases, but she will be alone forever. And a man must stay masked until his goddess returns his love—and if she can’t or won’t, he remains masked forever.

Seventeen-year-old Noll isn’t in the mood to celebrate. Her childhood friends have paired off and her closest companion, Jurij, found his goddess in Noll’s own sister. Desperate to find a way to break this ancient spell, Noll instead discovers why no man has ever chosen her.

Thus begins a dangerous game between the choice of woman versus the magic of man. And the stakes are no less than freedom and happiness, life and death—and neither is willing to lose.

2. Are you a plotter or a free writer?

I used to be a “pantser,” and I wrote Nobody’s Goddess without an outline, although it evolved a lot in revisions. Ever since I wrote 50,000 words of another manuscript that stopped working for me right at the climax, though, I’ve vowed never to write without an outline again. It’s worked since for me. I still go off outline and make changes as I write, but I feel better having that safety net in place.

3. Is your book part of a series or a standalone?

Nobody’s Goddess is the first in a trilogy. I have ideas for expanding it into a related series after that, but I make no promises!

4. Do you require silence when writing or do you listen to music?

I have to listen to music, but it can’t be music with lyrics because then I get distracted and sing along. I write best writing to soundtracks from my favorite films, TV shows and video games. (The one exception on the no-lyric thing is I listen to the soundtrack to Jim Henson’s Labyrinth at least once a day! It’s my favorite film, and it also influenced my writing.)

5. Are you writing your next book? Can you share a little about it?

I finished the drafts for both Nobody’s Lady and Nobody’s Pawn, books two and three in the Never Veil Series, and I recently finished my first round of revisions with my publisher for Nobody’s Lady. I haven’t had as much time as I’d like lately to work on a new project, but I intend to do a page-one rewrite of that manuscript that I shelved after 50,000 words to try to make it work this time. It’s a YA contemporary suspense about a teen with prosopagnosia (face blindness).

6. How long were you writing before getting a publishing contract?

I started writing somewhat seriously ten years before I got a publishing contract, but I’d never finished a manuscript until the year before I got a contract. Nobody’s Goddess is my first finished manuscript.

7. When does your book release?

Nobody’s Goddess came out this past April. My #WO2016 book is its sequel, Nobody’s Lady, which is scheduled for release in July 2016 at the moment. (Watch for Nobody’s Pawn after that in February 2017!)

Bio 7771316

Aside from working on my own creative writing projects, I’m a full-time freelance writer and editor with an honors degree in English. I was first published in a national scholarly journal (The Concord Review) while in high school. My credited work has appeared in online publications such as Anime News Network.

(Taken from Amy’s website)

Add Nobody’s Goddess on Goodreads

Leave a Reply

