Interview with Kim Savage, author of After The Woods

1. Can you tell us a little about your book? Is it your debut novel? 17998474

After the Woods is about how the friendship between two girls is affected when one is abducted saving the other. It’s one year later, and clues emerge that make everyone rethink what happened that day. Ultimately, it’s about what it really means to be brave. I hope it makes readers think on that question beyond the last page.

Oh yeah: and it’s my first novel!

2. Are you a plotter or a free writer?

I’m a plotter, though not in a lot of detail. I have this little subplot addiction: if I’m not vigilant, they sneak in everywhere, like eager little monsters. Plotting helps me realize when I’m letting the little monsters in.

3. Is your book part of a series or a standalone?

After the Woods is a standalone. I can’t imagine anything else could possibly happen to Julia and Liv. That’s not to say I wouldn’t love telling the story from the viewpoint of an important secondary character, like Alice Mincus. I might write that someday anyway, just for fun.

4. Do you require silence when writing or do you listen to music?

Silence among people. Lately, you’ll find me wearing Beats plugged into my White Noise app in the middle of my loud family.

5. Are you writing your next book? Can you share a little about it?

I’m revising my second book, also contemporary suspense, coming in Winter 2017. Like ATW, it’s dark and twisty, but it’s also a real love story between Ben and Mira. Think Romeo and Juliet meets The Virgin Suicides. I hope you’ll love it as much as I do.

6. How long were you writing before getting a publishing contract?

I started worked on After the Woods (or a version of it: though the prologue has always been the same, which is kind of cool) about five years ago.

7. When does your book release?

Feb. 23, 2016. When you look up in the sky and see fireworks in February? Yeah, those are mine.

 

Bio7111686

Kim Savage is the author of AFTER THE WOODS, a debut psychological thriller for young adults coming on Feb 23, 2016 with Farrar, Straus and Giroux/Macmillan. THESE ARE THE NOTES YOU DIDN’T GET, also with FSG/Macmillan, is her second thriller for young adults (2017). Before writing fiction, she worked as business journalist, pitching stories along the lines of “Stigmatized Properties: When Murder Kills Property Values”. You get the idea.

Leave a Reply

