Interview with Kristy Acevedo, author of Consider

1. Can you tell us a little about your debut novel?

My debut YA science fiction, CONSIDER, is about 17-year-old Alexandra Lucas, who must deal with her anxiety disorder while facing a possible apocalypse. 500 holograms appear across earth, heralding the end of the world by a comet in six months. They offer salvation to anyone who travels through “vertexes” (special escape portals) that they claim will bring people 300+ years into a parallel future. Scientists, however, cannot confirm the prophecy. Alex, along with her family and friends, must decide whether or not to believe the holograms and seek refuge before time runs out.

I wrote CONSIDER with reluctant readers in mind, so it’s fast-paced, thought-provoking, and even good for those who don’t typically like science fiction since it’s set in Massachusetts. Doctor Who and Star Trek fans should enjoy it as well since I added little references throughout the story.

2. Is it a standalone book or part of a series?

It is the first book of the HoloSeries with JollyFishPress.
CONSIDER, Book 1 April 2016
CONTRIBUTE, Book 2 Fall 2016

3. Who inspired your main character?

Alexandra Lucas suffers from a major anxiety disorder and becomes the hero of the series despite her struggles. Since some of my close family members also suffer from anxiety disorders, I wrote her from their personal experiences without needing to do much research.

4. Are you a plotter or do you just write whatever is in your head?

Both. I start with an idea, and I free write for about 100 pages, not necessarily in chronological order. This allows me to play with the possibilities first. Then I create a detailed plot outline by scene. I use the outline as a huge “to write” list, and then I check off scenes as I complete them. I don’t finish them in chronological order, either. I usually write whatever scene I’m feeling that day, so for instance, if I’m angry, I’ll write one of the scenes that requires anger. Once I’m done with all scenes, I reread the manuscript for continuity and start an editing task list.

5. Do you require silence when writing or do you need background noise?

I like some background noise, like cafe sounds or the television on low. I can’t work with music, though. If I hear music, I start singing or dancing along.

6. Are you writing your next book?

Yes! I’m working on book 2, CONTRIBUTE, for a December 2015 deadline with my publisher.

BioKristy headshot

Kristy Acevedo is a YA author, high school English teacher, and huge Star Trek, Doctor Who, and Harry Potter fan. When she was a child, her “big sister” from the Big Brothers Big Sisters Program fostered her love of books by bringing her to the public library every Wednesday. A member of SCBWI, her debut novel, CONSIDER (Jolly Fish Press, April 2016), won the 2015 PEN New England Susan P. Bloom Children’s Book Discovery Award. She has her Master’s Degree in English, and she founded the Monthly Twitter Writing Challenges in 2014. She lives in Massachusetts with her husband, two daughters, and two cats (Milo and Khaleesi). She believes coffee and dark chocolate were put on this planet for the good of humankind.

http://www.kristyacevedo.com

Leave a Reply

