Interview with N.K. Traver, author of Duplicity

1. Can you tell us a little about your book? Is it your debut novel?19237391

DUPLICITY is a cyberthriller I like to think of as BREAKING BAD meets THE MATRIX for teens. The book follows seventeen-year-old Brandon, a computer expert who hacks bank accounts in his free time, through a downward spiral of events after his mirror reflection starts moving on its own. And yes, it’s my debut!

2. Are you a plotter or a free writer?

I think of myself as a “plantser” (plotter + pantser/free writer) because I do a little of both. DUPLICITY was 100% off the cuff – I had a very clear sense of who the characters were before I started, and the plot arc, and I hit the page running. I tried that for my second novel, a YA horror, and it did not work. At all. So after much rewriting (er, two YEARS of rewriting…), I’ve decided that going forward, I’ll be doing much more up-front planning. But I’ll still let the story flex with the characters as needed. The outline isn’t law.

3. Is your book part of a series or a standalone?

DUPLICITY is a standalone, but I do have a sequel planned.

4. Do you require silence when writing or do you listen to music?

I have to write in dead silence. I am far too distractable otherwise, and if, say, a happy song came on while I was writing an intense death scene, suddenly birds would be singing and villains would be hugging heroes and it just would get very awkward. That said, if I’m stuck on a scene or plotting, I find music to be incredibly inspiring, and I do have playlists for my books.

5. Are you writing your next book? Can you share a little about it?

Yes! That tricky YA horror I referenced earlier … I can’t share too much about it at this time, but if I were to choose comparison titles, they’d be SILENT HILL meets THE SCORPIO RACES, with a bit of SHADOW & BONE sprinkled in.

6. How long were you writing before getting a publishing contract?

I’ve been writing little things since the day I could hold a pen, but I got serious about actually finishing a book about 2 1/2 years before I landed a publishing contract for DUPLICITY. In that time I went to a writers’ conference, multiple publishing classes, and devoured a truckload of YA books. (I mean that metaphorically. Of course.)

7. When does your book release?

DUPLICITY released March 17 from Macmillan.

 

Bio

As a freshman at the University of Colorado, N.K. Traver decided to pursue Information Technology because classmates said “no one could make a living” with an English degree. It wasn’t too many years later Traver realized it didn’t matter what the job paid—nothing would ever be as fulfilling as writing. Programmer by day, writer by night, it was only a matter of time before the two overlapped.

Website: http://www.nktraver.com
Amazon: http://smarturl.it/AWDuplicityAMA
Barnes & Noble: http://smarturl.it/AWDuplicityBN
Indiebound: http://smarturl.it/AWDuplicityIB
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/19237391-duplicity

Leave a Reply

