INTERVIEW WITH BROOKS BENJAMIN, AUTHOR OF MY SEVENTH-GRADE LIFE IN TIGHTS

1. Can you tell us a little about your book? Is it your debut novel? IMG_1494
MY SEVENTH-GRADE LIFE IN TIGHTS is my debut novel about a self-taught dancer named Dillon. Here’s the quick synopsis:
Dance studios are for sell-outs. Or at least that’s what Dillon’s dance crew keeps saying. But when a chance to compete at the biggest dance academy in the state falls in his lap, he has to decide what’s more important: sticking to his crew’s rules or freestyling his way into solo greatness.
2. Are you a plotter or a free writer
I’m kind of a plantser. I’ll make a very bare-bones outline just to get me started. And then I’ll wing it until I find that my characters are taking the story in a completely different direction. Then I’ll do another quick outline and keep going. Sort of a wash, rinse, repeat strategy.
3. Is your book part of a series or a standalone?
M7GLIT is a standalone but I’ve got ideas (and an outline) for a sequel.
4. Do you require silence when writing or do you listen to music?
Music. Always. I create playlists as I write and these become as important to me as my coffee.
5. Are you writing your next book? Can you share a little about it?
 I’ve actually written two since M7GLIT sold. One is another MG (about an aspiring young horror movie director named Oddrey) and one is a YA (about a trans girl who enrolls at a new school and joins an all-girl band). Right now I’m working on a second YA and another MG. Needless to say I try to keep busy. 🙂
6. How long were you writing before getting a publishing contract?
I’ve been writing for as long as I can remember, but I really started taking my writing seriously in college. I began with screenplays and short stories. But it wasn’t until 2012 when I started writing my first book.
7. When does your book release?
MY SEVENTH-GRADE LIFE IN TIGHTS releases April 12, 2016! *dances, flails, makes fool of self, doesn’t really care*
Links:
Bio: IMG_0682
Brooks is a reader, a writer, a teacher, and an eater of pizza. He lives in Tennessee with his wife and their dog. He is represented by the fabulous Uwe Stender of TriadaUS Literary Agency. Brooks’ first novel, MY SEVENTH-GRADE LIFE IN TIGHTS will be released by Delacorte/Random House (April 12, 2016).
Leave a Reply

