Interview with Stacey Kade, author of The Trials

Can you tell us a little about your book? Is it your debut novel?Low Res Cover for THE TRIALS
My most recent book is THE TRIALS, which is the final book in the Project Paper Doll series. The series is about a girl who’s half-human, half-alien, trying to figure out who she is and her purpose in life, all while avoiding the evil corporation that created her and falling in love with a human boy that she can’t really have. :)I have two books coming out in 2016. The first is a new adult/contemporary romance called 738 DAYS (Forge Books). The second is a contemporary YA, currently called LIFE, AFTER, but we’re in the middle of a title change. That will be out from Simon and Schuster.

It is my debut into contemporary romance/new adult, but not YA.

Are you a plotter or a free writer?
A combination. I was a pantser (write by the seat of my pants) for years, but being under deadline has changed my process. 🙂 Now I do a lot more planning, though I don’t formally plot or outline.

Is your book part of a series or a standalone?
Both are standalones.

Do you require silence when writing or do you listen to music?
I listen to music. I also prefer having coffee shop noise. If it gets too quiet, I get distracted. 🙂

Are you writing your next book? Can you share a little about it?
I’m doing the prep work for FINDING FELICITY, which will my YA book in 2017 (Simon & Schuster). That’s about a girl, Caroline, who, feeling pressure from her overachieving mother, made up her entire high school social life, populating it with characters from 90s TV shows (Willow, Felicity, Joey, etc.) Now, starting college, Caroline has to figure out who she is and how to make real friends for the first time, before her mother decides Caroline can’t handle it and forces her to come home.

How long were you writing before getting a publishing contract?
I published with a small press about 5 years after I started writing seriously. Then it took me another five to get an agent.

When does your book release?

738 DAYS will be out on June 28, 2016 from Forge Books. LIFE, AFTER (new title TBD) will be out from Simon & Schuster in Fall 2016.

Bio: Stacey Kade 3

As an award-winning corporate copywriter, Stacey Kade has written about everything from backhoe loaders to breast pumps. But she prefers to make things up instead.

She lives in the Chicago suburbs with her husband, Greg, and two retired racing greyhounds, SheWearsThePants (Pansy) and Shutter. When she’s not reading or writing, you’ll likely find her parked in front of the television catching up on her favorite shows (Scandal, The Vampire Diaries, Almost Human, The Walking Dead, and Sherlock, among others.)

Leave a Reply

