Interview with Holly Bodger, author Of 5 To 1

Can you tell us a little about your book? Is it your debut novel?5 to 1

5 TO 1 is my debut novel. It’s set in 2054 in a fictional country that, because of severe gender selection in the past, now has five boys for every one girl of marriageable age (thus the title, 5 TO 1). The book follows a three-day process by which five of these teen boys have to compete to win one girl’s hand in marriage. The points-of-view are of the girl who is to be married off and of one of the boys who’s competing for her (and doesn’t want to win!)

Are you a plotter or a free writer?

I am definitely a plotter, although I like to write my first drafts with nothing more than an outline and then inflict tighter plot rules during revisions. For 5 TO 1, I wrote the first draft in one day. It was very short and written horribly, but it gave me a good idea for where I wanted to go with the story.

Is your book part of a series or a standalone?

I’m not sure yet. I’d like to publish a second book in this world, but I’ve been pre-occupied with another book so that is still up in the air.

Do you require silence when writing or do you listen to music?

Dead silence. I really can’t even have background noise when I’m writing. I can handle it during revisions, but usually choose silence anyway.

Are you writing your next book? Can you share a little about it?

I’m just finishing up revisions on my next book. It’s a diverse retelling of Shakespeare’s Merchant of Venice and it set in England in 1912. Unlike 5 TO 1, this one does not contain any verse.

How long were you writing before getting a publishing contract?

I’ve been writing my entire life, but I was writing novels for about seven years before I signed my first contract. The first two of these novels were absolute crap (seriously, I’m too afraid to even look at them!) The third one got me an agent but didn’t sell (neither did the fourth one). 5 TO 1 was my fifth one, although I have written many many more that are either still in progress, or in revisions, or in my head. J

When does your book release?

5 TO 1 was released in hardcover and ebook on May 12, 2015 and will be available in paperback on May 10, 2016.

Leave a Reply

