Interview with Lauren Algeo, author of Hikers

Can you tell us a little about your debut novel?

My debut novel was Hikers Part One: Power, which is part of the Hikers Trilogy. It’s about one man’s struggle to defeat a family of mind-controlling assassins, and the people he meets along the way.

Is it a standalone book or part of a series?

It’s part of a Trilogy and I’ve just finished writing Part Three: Politics for release in October. There are also two accompanying novels alongside the Trilogy, which give more of an insight into two of the main characters.

Who inspired your main character?

My main character, Scott Brewer, was inspired by characters I used to read about when I was young – such as Alex Cross, Jack Reacher and Roland Deschain. I liked the elements of flawed heroes and lone wolves.

Are you a plotter or do you just write whatever is in your head?

I like to see where the story will take me so I don’t usually plot anything out. Sometimes I will have an idea for a scene in mind but I have no idea how or when I will get there in the story. I like to give freedom to the characters.

Do you require silence when writing or do you need background noise?

I do most of my writing on my daily commute so I’m used to blocking out background noise on the trains but I can write in silence too.

Are you writing your next book?

Once Hikers Part Three is published, I’ll be working on an exciting new project – a collaboration with a few others authors, which is due out next February.

Bio: lauren

I’m a thirty-year old graphic designer from London, England. I currently write part-time on my commute and at weekends but would love to write full-time one day. I’m obsessed with books and films, particularly anything horror-related. My favourite author is Stephen King and I love watching TV shows like American Horror Story and The Walking Dead. I published my debut novel, Hikers Part One, in 2013 and now have six novels available in ebook and paperback. You can find out more about me and my books at:
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/hikerstrilogy
Twitter: https://twitter.com/LaurenAlgeo

11061309_490109841140239_4211322220189744064_n

Leave a Reply

