Interview with Kate L. Mary, author of No Regrets

Can you tell us a little about your book? Is it your debut novel?square covers 

NO REGRETS, book two in the College of Charleston series, is a New Adult Romance set in Charleston, SC. It actually overlaps with book one, THE LIST, telling the story of Cami as she tries to move forward after losing her best friend.

This is my first traditionally published series, but I have several self-published books as well. I tend to write whatever pops into my head, so I have a little bit of everything at the moment: a YA post-apocalyptic/sc-fi novel, a NA contemporary romance/mystery, as well as a zombie series, which has been an Amazon bestseller in Post-Apocalyptic and Dystopian fiction on and off since it was released last year.

Are you a plotter or a free writer?

I’m not a plotter. I’ve tried in the past, but by the time I finished the book was totally different than what I had planned, so I gave up. I really like to let the characters lead me. Not only does it make them seem more real, but it also makes writing the story more enjoyable. Readers will email me and tell me how excited they are to read the next book in my zombie series because they’re dying to find out what happens, and my response is always: so am I! Because I honestly don’t know how it’s going to end, or even WHEN!

Is your book part of a series or a standalone?

NO REGRETS is part of a series, but it can also be read as a standalone.

Do you require silence when writing or do you listen to music?

Silence is better, but as a mother of four I’ve learned to tune out noise. When the house gets too crazy I find it easier to put in some ear buds so I can drown everything else out with music.

Are you writing your next book? Can you share a little about it?

I’m working on two books at the moment. A fourth book in the College of Charleston series and the fifth book in my zombie series. The zombie book will be top secret because I don’t want to spoil the story for anyone. I’m not a hundred percent sure what I’m going to do with my new contemporary novel, but I do know that my main character will deal with the aftereffects of being raised by a mother who is a hoarder.

How long were you writing before getting a publishing contract?

I started writing regularly in late 2011 and released my first and second self-published books during the summer of 2014. Shortly after that I finally got my amazing agent—Stacey Donaghy—and a three book deal with Kensington Press. It’s been a busy year, and I’m looking forward lots of other big deals in the future!

When does your book release?

The release day for NO REGRETS is September 28th, and book three in the series, MOVING ON, will come out in February of 2016.

Bio: squareAuthor

Kate L. Mary is a stay-at-home mother of four and an Air Force wife. She grew up in a small town just north of Dayton, Ohio where she and her husband met at the age of twelve. Since their marriage in 2002, they have lived in Georgia, Mississippi, South Carolina, and California.

Kate enjoys any post-apocalyptic story – especially if zombies are involved – as long as there is a romantic twist to give the story hope. Kate prefers nerdy, non-traditional heroes who can make you laugh to hunky pieces of man-meat, and her love of wine and chocolate is legendary among her friends and family. She currently resides in Oklahoma with her husband and children.

Social Media Links: WebsiteFacebookTwitter

Pre-Order Links for NO REGRETS: AmazonB&NGoogleiBooksKoboLyrical

Buy Links for THE LIST: AmazonBarnes & NobleiBooksKoboGoogle

Pre-Order Links for MOVING ON: AmazonBarnes & NobleiBooksKoboGoogle

Page for my BROKEN WORLD SERIES: http://katelmary.com/contact/broken-world/

 

One thought on “Interview with Kate L. Mary, author of No Regrets

Leave a Reply

