Interview with Marie Meyer, author of Across The Distance

Can you tell us a little about your book? Is it your debut novel? 23666591

Across the Distance is my debut novel, which came out in May. In AtD you meet Jillian Lawson, a fashion design student who is beginning her freshman year of college at the design school of her dreams, which means she has to say goodbye to her best friend, Griffin Daniels—the one person who helped her through all the turmoil of her teen years.

This story is about Jillian discovering that she’s stronger than she thought—that she can stand on her own two feet and succeed. Along with discovering her inner strength, she realizes how much she loves Griffin, and that he’s more than just a friend.

Are you a plotter or a free writer?

I’m definitely a free writer, a pantser if you will. I get into trouble when I try to plot things out. My stories always take on a mind of its own when I’m in the writing zone!

Is your book part of a series or a standalone?

Across the Distance can be read as a standalone, or read in conjunction with its companion novel, Can’t Go Back. AtD is told from Jillian’s POV, where CGB is told from Griffin’s POV. Since the two characters are apart for so much of each other’s books, I wanted to give Jillian and Griffin their own stories. Can’t Go Back can also be read as a standalone or along side of Across the Distance.

Do you require silence when writing or do you listen to music?

I love music! Music is such a huge part of my creative process. I will hear a certain song and a whole scene will blossom in head. However, when I actually sit down to write, I must have silence. Where music is a scene creator, when I’m writing, it because a scene distractor. I love to sing along and will always end up belting a tune when I’m supposed to be writing! Silence is golden!

Are you writing your next book? Can you share a little about it?

I just sent my third book to my editor, The Turning Point! TTP is a brand new story, with a brand new set of characters: Sophia and Lucas! I’m so excited for everyone to meet them on January 12th!

Sophia has everything planned out. She’s graduated from college and is on track to start med school. But when her estranged father delivers some devastating news, Sophia’s plans of becoming a doctor could be in jeopardy. Needing time to think, she spends the summer in Italy, where she meets the handsome and carefree, Lucas. Through their budding relationship, Sophia learns a lot about herself, but most importantly, that sometimes, not having a plan can turn out to be the best plan of all.

How long were you writing before getting a publishing contract?

I began writing with the intent of getting published in 2008. I co-authored a paranormal YA that currently resides under my bed. After a few years of querying, I decided to give writing a solo shot and wrote what is now Across the Distance. In 2013, I entered Pitch Wars. My manuscript was chosen by the brilliant Lady Lioness, who helped me polish it, which it then caught the eye of my now agent, Louise Fury.

When does your book release?

Across the Distance released in May, Can’t Go Back released in August, and The Turning Point releases on January 12, 2016.

Bio: marie meyer

Marie Meyer was a Language Arts teacher for fourteen years. She spends her days in the classroom and her nights writing heartfelt new adult romances that will leave readers clamoring for more. She is a member of RWA and the St. Louis Writers Guild. Marie’s short fiction won honorable mentions from the St. Louis Writers Guild in 2010 and 2011. She is a proud mommy and enjoys helping her oldest daughter train for the Special Olympics, making up silly stories with her youngest daughter, and bingeing on weeks of DVR’d television shows with her husband.

Connect with Marie on Social Media

Twitter | Facebook | Instagram | Tumblr | Goodreads | Google +

mariemeyerbooks.com

Subscribe to Marie’s Newsletter

Buy Links

CAN’T GO BACK

Amazon | Amazon UK | B&N | Kobo | iBooks | Google Play

ACROSS THE DISTANCE

Amazon | Amazon UK | B&N | Kobo | iBooks | Google Play

THE TURNING POINT

Amazon | Amazon UK | B&N | Kobo | iBooks | Google Play

Leave a Reply

