Interview with Meredith Tate, author of Missing Pieces

Can you tell us a little about your book? Is it your debut novel?mP

Sure! MISSING PIECES is my debut novel. It’s a New Adult dystopian romance that came out in March through Omnific Publishing (a partner of Simon & Schuster). It tells the story of two childhood friends who live in a society where you’re assigned to your spouse at age six, and are expected to follow a strict relationship timeline with that person until marriage at age 24. The punishment for violating this timeline is the violent ritual known as Banishment, resulting in permanent excommunication. The two main characters start as best friends and grow to realize they have feelings for each other, but they have both been assigned to other people, making their feelings illegal. MISSING PIECES follows their story from childhood to adulthood as they have to decide whether to follow their timelines and lose each other, or follow their hearts and lose everything else.

Are you a plotter or a free writer?

I am definitely a plotter. I always need at least a rough outline before I write, even if it’s just a few paragraphs of plot points. I love twist endings (MISSING PIECES has one!), but I find they’re hard for me to pull off if I don’t plan all the details ahead of time. I always envy people who free write, because I wish I could do it!

Is your book part of a series or a standalone?

MISSING PIECES is a standalone. However, I can see myself writing novellas sometime in the distant future about some of the minor characters, just for fun. One reviewer suggested this a while ago, and I can’t get the idea out of my head now!

Do you require silence when writing or do you listen to music?

I always listen to music! In fact, I often struggle to focus if it’s silent. I usually make a playlist for each book I’m writing with songs that make me think of the characters, and play it on repeat while I’m writing. If you’re curious, here’s my playlist for MISSING PIECES!

Are you writing your next book? Can you share a little about it?

I have since written two other manuscripts (a YA sci-fi and a YA contemporary fantasy), but who knows if they’ll ever get anywhere. I’m also currently working on an adult romance and a YA thriller. Yes, I’m all over the place!

How long were you writing before getting a publishing contract?

I’ve been writing for as long as I can remember. I started my first manuscript in 2006 (it’s currently in a drawer where it belongs). I got a publishing contract for MISSING PIECES (my second manuscript) in June of 2014. So it was a long haul! Fun fact: when I got “the call” that I was being offered a publishing contract, I was in the middle of a cross-country move from New Hampshire to Missouri. I was staying at the Residence Inn waiting for my furniture to arrive at the time!

When does your book release?

It came out on March 3rd – it’s available now!

Bio:authorpic4 

A proud New Hampshire native, Meredith Tate lives in St. Louis with her husband. She loves reading and writing in all genres, but has a soft spot for dark young adult and new adult speculative fiction. Meredith has a master’s degree in social work from the University of New Hampshire. She is a contributor to the St. Louis Writer’s Guild’s “Write Pack Radio Show” every Sunday afternoon. When she’s not writing, Meredith enjoys traveling, playing the piano, befriending wild geese, and spending time with family and friends. Much like her characters, she’s always up for another adventure.

Author Links:

Twitter
Facebook
Goodreads
Book Links:
Simon & Schuster (with links to B&N, iBooks, etc)
Amazon
Goodreads

Leave a Reply

