Interview with Yvonne Prinz, author of If You’re Lucky

Can you tell us a little about your book? Is it your debut novel?if you're lucky 

“If You’re Lucky” is a thriller. Georgia’s brother Lucky drowns in a surfing accident half-way around the world in Australia and she refuses to believe it’s an accident. Then a stranger named Fin arrives in False Bay claiming he was Lucky’s best friend. Soon he’s working for her dad, charming her mom, and dating Lucky’s girlfriend. Georgia starts to wonder if Fin killed Lucky to take over his life. She struggles to make the rest of the town listen to her suspicions but her mental illness and a history of paranoia and mistrust make her hard to believe.

As the chilling narrative unfolds, the reader must decide wether Georgia’s descent into madness is causing her to see things that don’t exist-or to see a deadly truth that no one else can.

I authored a middle grade series called “The Clare Series” (Raincoast), and YA novels “The Vinyl Princess” (Harper Collins) and “All You Get Is Me” (Harper Collins).

Are you a plotter or a free writer?

Both. I start with an outline and get going and the plot usually reveals itself as I write but I often have to go back in several times to strengthen it in subsequent drafts.

Is your book part of a series or a standalone?

Stand alone

Do you require silence when writing or do you listen to music?

It really depends on the book. Because of the intensity of “If You’re Lucky,” I found music very distracting so if I listened to music at all it was classical.

Are you writing your next book? Can you share a little about it?

I am just finishing up a draft. I can only tell you that it’s quite different from “If You’re Lucky.”

How long were you writing before getting a publishing contract?

It took me about a year and a half before I found an agent and signed my first book contract. That was the first Clare book in the series of three. It was called “Still There, Clare”

When does your book release?

Oct. 20th.

Bio: yvonne prinz

I was born and raised in Alberta, Canada. I wandered the world for most of the 80’s and eventually found myself in San Francisco in 1989. I met my husband and we opened a record store called Amoeba Music, and then another one, and then another one. “The Vinyl Princess”, myfirst YA novel, was inspired by the record store and the colorful Berkeley neighborhood where it still resides. The Vinyl Princess won the California Library Association’s John and Patricia Beatty Award, was shortlisted for an Arthur Ellis Award for Crime Fiction and was nominated for a Northern California Book award. It’s also been optioned for a feature film.

Leave a Reply

