Interview with Scarlett Kol, author of Midwinter

Can you tell us a little about your book? Is it your debut novel?

Midwinter is my debut novel. It was a fun little paranormal I came up with while trying to solve a plot hole problem in another project I was working on. As I kept plugging at the other novel, Avery’s voice kept interrupting me to tell her story that ended up being darker and far more complex than the spark of an idea I had on a cold December morning.

Unofficially:

The day Avery Belmont was born her father disappeared. Now after seventeen years, Avery returns to her hometown and awakens the dark family secrets he left behind. Secrets that connect her to the caustic and handsome Drew Montgomery. Secrets that probably should stay buried.

Are you a plotter or a free writer?

Both. Often times an idea pops into my head and I’m not completely sure what I’m going to do with it yet, so I just write. Eventually it gets to the point where my concept is taking shape and there are too many things in my brain at once that I have to take a step back, make the outline, and then keep going. Also, due to life commitments I sometimes only get short spurts of time to write, if at all, so having that outline makes it easier to get back to the story.

Is your book part of a series or a standalone?

It’s a standalone … but I do have some ideas to continue the story if I ever wanted to revisit that world.

Do you require silence when writing or do you listen to music?

That depends. Most of the time I need music to block out the world. I listen to certain songs when I’m writing a specific character/scene to get the right feel. I make playlists. I have book theme songs. However, on rare occasion if I get really stuck or a sentence doesn’t read quite right I need to shut everything off until I’m past that spot.

Are you writing your next book? Can you share a little about it?

Yes. I’m working on something called Keeper of Shadows. It’s about a messed up boy cursed to become a dimension-hopping, wraith-type creature and an overprotected girl who still thinks there’s a chance to save his life. It’s written in dual-POV, which is a first for me, but I think it adds a lot of layers to the story.

How long were you writing before getting a publishing contract?

That’s a tough question. I’ve been writing short stories/novellas since I was about thirteen, but I first started writing novels in 2009. Midwinter is the first novel I actually finished and I received my contract in April 2015.

When does your book release?

Spring 2016

Bio:

Scarlett Kol is the author of MIDWINTER, a young adult paranormal coming Spring 2016 from Rebelight Publishing. She grew up in northern Manitoba reading books and writing stories about creatures that make you want to sleep with the lights on. As an adult, she’s still a little afraid of the dark. Scarlett live just outside Winnipeg, Manitoba with her husband and two boys, but if you need to find her she’s likely freezing at the hockey rink.

Find her online at http://www.scarlettkol.com or on Twitter @ScarlettKol.

Leave a Reply

