Interview with Hans Cummings, author of Malediction

Can you tell us a little about your book? Is it your debut novel? Pageflex Persona [document: PRS0000026_00036]
The novel I most recently released, Malediction is the first book in a new fantasy series, Scars of the Sundering. It takes place in my original fantasy world of Calliome and follows the adventures of Pancras, a minotaur necromancer, and his friends as he goes to answer charges against him by the mage’s guild and address the mistakes of his past. During their journey, they get trapped by snow in an unfriendly city and deal the nasty undergrowth of bigotry the city hides. Books 2 and 3 will continue their tale. Malediction is my sixth published novel.
Are you a plotter or a free writer?
I’m a mix. I usually start free writing, then as I get my opening scene and characters established, I’ll starting plotting (though it’s all plotted in my head). I’ll outline if I get stuck or if I am aware of major alterations that need to happen in the story. I very rarely start off with a completed outline (I did once, for my YA sci-fi novel Zack Jackson & The Cytherean Academy).

Is your book part of a series or a standalone?
Malediction is part of a trilogy. The trilogy is part of a collection of novels that all take place in the World of Calliome, and while the Scars of the Sundering series follows The Foundation of Drak-Anor series, one does not need to have read the prior series to enjoy the current series; each series is stand-alone.

Do you require silence when writing or do you listen to music?
I put on symphonic music when I write. I find lyrics distract me, so I stick to symphonic film and video game scores that match the genre in which I’m writing. For fantasy, I listen to a lot of soundtracks from games like Dragon Age, World of Warcraft, Baldur’s Gate, and films like Lord of the Rings. When I’m writing sci-fi, I listen to soundtracks from Mass Effect, Doctor Who, and Star Trek.

Are you writing your next book? Can you share a little about it?
I am currently working on some revisions for book 2 of Scars of the Sundering, Lament. After my content editor was finished with Malediction, I had to change the ending, so I needed to then go back and change the beginning of Lament. Book 2 picks up right where book 1 leaves off, and takes our main trio further south and to their respective trials. From there, their paths diverge and Pancras learns more about the major threat to the world while his friends get involved in local issues that, unbeknownst to them, will lead to their involvement in Pancras’s conflict. But that’s getting into book 3. Other than a new beginning, the first draft of Lament is complete. I have approximately 50% of book 3 written.

How long were you writing before getting a publishing contract?
I was writing for a couple of years before I decided to become an independent publisher. I’d had several rejections from publishing companies, as new authors are wont to do, but since I already had a background in publishing, I decided to forge ahead and do it myself. The changes in the publishing industry make it very easy for someone sufficiently computer-saavy to jump into the ebook market, and I was able to use my experience in publishing to also publish print versions of my books which hold up to anything coming out of a corporate publisher.

When does your book release?
Malediction released on July 30, 2015. I don’t have a hard date for Lament, but I am anticipating early Q1 of 2016. Book 3, Salvation should follow later in 2016.

Bio: hans cummings

Author of the fantasy duology: The Foundation of Drak-Anor: Wings of Twilight and Iron Fist of the Oroqs as well as the Zack Jackson science fiction series, Hans Cummings published his first novel in 2011. Two of his short stories appear in Fear the Boot’s Sojourn speculative fiction anthologies. He is Nuvo’s Best of Indy — Best Local Author 3rd place Honoree for 2014 and a nominee for 2015

Hans is a volunteer for the tabletop gaming industry ENnie Awards and maintains a gaming blog http://doctorstrangeroll.wordpress.com in addition to his writing blog http://vffpublishing.com.

Hans earned a Bachelor of Arts degree in English from Indiana University in 2006. He grew up in Indiana, Germany, and Virginia and returned to Indiana when he was 21. He currently lives in Indianapolis with his wife and stepdaughter. His hobbies include tabletop and computer gaming, smoking meat, and igniting young people’s curiosity and passion for science and exploration.

 

Leave a Reply

