Interview with Jenny Martin, author of Tracked

Can you tell us a little about your book? Is it your debut novel?9780803740129_large_Tracked

Tracked is my first novel, and it was pitched as Star Wars meets Fast in the Furious.
On corporately controlled Castra, rally racing is a high stakes game that seventeen-year-old Phoebe Van Zant knows all too well. Phee’s legendary racer father disappeared mysteriously, but that hasn’t stopped her from speeding headlong into trouble. When she and her best friend, Bear, attract the attention of Charles Benroyal, they are blackmailed into racing for Benroyal Corp, a company that represents everything Phee detests. Worse, Phee risks losing Bear as she falls for Cash, her charming new teammate. But when she discovers that Benroyal is controlling more than a corporation, Phee realizes she has a much bigger role in Castra’s future than she could ever have imagined. It’s up to Phee to take Benroyal down. But even with the help of her team, can a street-rat destroy an empire?

Are you a plotter or a free writer?

I’m somewhat of a ‘pantser,’ meaning I don’t outline my books beforehand. I don’t always know exactly what’s going to happen, scene by scene, until I’m writing them. But I do pre-write, free-associating and jotting down all my random ideas about the characters, the world, plot, etc. After brainstorming, I dive into the first draft.

Is your book part of a series or a standalone?

Tracked is part of a series. The sequel arrives next May!

Do you require silence when writing or do you listen to music?

I can usually write anywhere, anytime, even if I’m in a busy place with lots of noise. I can tune it all out, very easily. In fact, my family jokes that they have to make quite a commotion to pull me out of a draft, and back to reality!

Are you writing your next book? Can you share a little about it?

I’m just finishing up edits on Tracked’s sequel. I can’t say much without revealing spoilers, but I will say that it felt very satisfying and bittersweet to finish the book. There are a few scenes that still make me cry, each time I read them.

At the same time, I’m also working on two brand new projects. The first is a dark and twisty, scary, swoony horror-slash romance novel. A few hints: Blood. Ashes. Truck Stop Con Artists. Ghosts. Dickens. The second project is a blend of science fiction and fantasy, an impossible love story between an engineered soldier and a programmed consort—a dying thorn and an ageless bloom.

How long were you writing before getting a publishing contract?

I’ve been writing novels since late 2008. I wrote three manuscripts before Tracked sold in 2012.

When does your book release?

Happy to say it’s out in the world! Tracked released last May, and is available now.

Bio: Jenny Martin Headshot Final(1)

Jenny Martin is an author, librarian, and Beatle-maniac. Her first novel, Tracked, is available now, from Dial, an imprint of Penguin Random-House.

She lives in the Dallas-Fort Worth area, with her husband and son, where she hoards books and writes fiction, and hangs out with people who like those things, too.

And yes, she’s still on a quest for the perfect pancake. (Maybe you can recommend the perfect short stack?)

Buy Links:
http://readjennymartin.com/my-books/

Leave a Reply

