Interview with Melody Winter, author of Sachael Dreams

Can you tell us a little about your book? Is it your debut novel?sachael dreams 

Sachael Dreams is my debut novel. It’s a New Adult Romantic Fantasy written from the point of view of Estelle. She’s returned to her childhood home in Ravenscar on the North East coast of England after completing her degree in Art History in York. Everything changes when a mysterious man joins her on one of her midnight swims in the ocean. He’s a Sachael, a master of seduction, and offers her a life she could never have imagined. As secrets unfold a new danger arrives and before Estelle can fully comprehend what’s happening she becomes a pawn in a war she knew nothing about. She struggles to know who to believe and who to side with. Should she turn her back on her Sachael, or fight to escape her alluring, intimidating captor?
There are many subplots, mystery, heartache and romance that all overlap, but there is also an element of darkness running through the very existence of Sachaels.

Are you a plotter or a free writer?

I’m a plotter although I drift into free writing throughout my plot. I know the complete arc of the story before I begin, and even plan out chapters with a brief description of what needs to happen in each scene. As I write and my characters come alive they often stray from my original plan. I love it when this happens, and it regularly does. I usually let them have their own way before steering them back onto the original plan, but I have been known to complete change my direction due to their insistent demand. For example, when I was writing Sachael Desires (Mine #2) I was prepared to write a character full of hate and anger, but when I started writing him, he refused to be the person I’d envisaged. He turned out to be a loving and honourable man, but he did keep a little of how I saw him as he’s very sarcastic and demanding. He’s now one of my favourite characters.
I’d hate to just start writing and not know where I’m going with any of the characters, but maybe this comes from writing a four book series. I HAD to know the definite arc of each of the four books and could never have done that without knowing where I was heading or how I’d get there.

Is your book part of a series or a standalone?

The first book could be read as a standalone, but the reader would probably have many unanswered questions. Only through reading the whole series will the answers become known. If the first book is missed then the other books will not make sense. The series is like a book of 500k words broken down into four manageable chunks.

Do you require silence when writing or do you listen to music?

I prefer silence. I used to like listening to music but found myself getting easily side-tracked. Having said that, when I’m not writing I can often be found listening to my story’s playlist on my IPod. I have a track for every chapter, and love searching for the right song to fit the chapters. Many times a song can influence my writing, but I still can’t listen to it whilst I’m writing.

Are you writing your next book? Can you share a little about it?

I have the fourth book in the Mine series to finish, but have recently been writing the first book in another series, this time a two book series. (The Ascent) Iniquity is a Dark New Adult Romantic Fantasy set ten years into our future. Demons have risen from beneath the earth and plunged our world into darkness. They feed from people’s emotions and not only rule over humans but control vampires, infernals and miscreants. It’s not a world I would want to experience. The story is written from Athena’s POV and follows her journey as she turns twenty one and becomes embroiled in an unwanted relationship with a demon.

How long were you writing before getting a publishing contract?

I thought of the main characters for Sachael Dreams in 2012 and lived with them in my head for a good six months. I began writing their story in January 2013. The first draft was finished within six months, and I sent it to numerous ‘writer’ friends before sending it out to publishers. I signed with Reuts Publications in May 2014, so my journey has been pretty quick although it didn’t seem it at the time.

When does your book release?

Sachael Dreams was released in February 2015 and the second book in the series, Sachael Desires, is due to be released in November 2015.

Bio: melody winter

Growing up, Melody showed a natural ability in art, a head for maths, and a tendency to write too long English essays. Difficult to place in the world when she graduated, she pursued a career in teaching, but ended up working in finance. Melody is convinced the methodical times she spends working with numbers fuel her desire to drift into dream worlds and write about the illusory characters in her head.

Melody Winter lives in York, North Yorkshire, England with her husband and two sons. When not dealing with football, rugby, and a whole plethora of ‘boy’ activities, she will be found scribbling notes for her stories, or preparing for another trip to the nearby beaches at Scarborough and Whitby. With an obsession for anything mythical, Melody revels in reading and writing about such creatures.

Links
Amazon.co.uk: http://www.amazon.co.uk/Sachael-Dreams-Mine-Book-1-ebook/dp/B00TYZJNFA/ref=sr_1_1_twi_kin_2?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1440356790&sr=1-1&keywords=sachael+dreams
Amazon.com: http://www.amazon.com/Sachael-Dreams-Mine-Book-1-ebook/dp/B00TYZJNFA/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1424905663&sr=1-1&keywords=sachael+dreams
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/8241647.Melody_Winter
REUTS Publications: http://www.reuts.com/books/sachael-dreams/
Twitter: https://twitter.com/MelodyWinter
Web: http://www.melodywinter.com
Blog: http://www.melodywinterbooks.blogspot.uk
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Melody-Winter-Author/169310363186274?ref=hl

Leave a Reply

