Interview with Kristine Carlson Asselin, author of Any Way You Slice It

Can you tell us a little about your book? Is it your debut novel?any way you slice it

Any Way You Slice It is my debut novel. It’s about Penelope Spaulding, who loves to speed skate. She races around the rink to blow off steam after yet another fight with her dad about going to culinary school. When Jake Gomes, the bad boy who lives down the street, dares her to join the Rink Rats, the local misfit hockey team, she surprises herself and joins in silent defiance of her father and his expectations. – See more at: http://www.bloomsbury.com/us/any-way-you-slice-it-9781619637832/

Are you a plotter or a free writer?

I’m definitely a pantser (free writer) though I wish I could be a better plotter. I love just jumping in and being with my characters, but sometimes that backfires when I have no idea what they are doing or where they are going next!

Is your book part of a series or a standalone?

AWYSI is a standalone novel, but I’m thinking about another story in the same world…it’s brewing. Stay tuned!

Do you require silence when writing or do you listen to music?

I don’t really require silence, but I’m not necessarily a music listener either. It depends on where I am. I do create playlists for all my books, to inspire myself when I’m blocked.

Are you writing your next book? Can you share a little about it?

I’m working on a middle grade novel right now that I’m pitching as the “Prince(ss) and the Pauper” meets “I’m in the Band.” It’s about a girl who gets mistaken for a pop star and ends up living her life for a day. I’m so excited about getting it out in the world.

How long were you writing before getting a publishing contract?

I’ve been writing seriously for about 10 years…Before the novel debuted in 2015, I had written 14 work for hire nonfiction books for the school library market. The first one in that genre released in 2008. I was writing for about three years before the first nonfiction—but almost ten years before the novel came out. It’s been a long (often lonely…often wonderful) road. I’ve made the best friends, and had the best times since I started on this journey!

When does your book release?

Any Way You Slice It came out in April 2015. My newest middle grade nonfiction (What You Need to Know about Concussions) released in August 2015 and I’ve got a new project about Women in World War I coming out in spring 2016.

Bio:

Kristine Carlson Asselin lives in Massachusetts and writes Young Adult and Middle Grade fiction. Her debut YA novel ANY WAY YOU SLICE IT (Bloomsbury Spark) came out in April 2015. She is also the author of fifteen children’s books for the elementary school library market. Kris volunteers with the Girl Scouts of Eastern Massachusetts, and loves Harry Potter, Doctor Who, classic rock from the 70’s and 80’s, and anything with a time travel theme.

She is a proud member of SCBWI-New England, a contributor to the Sporty Girl Books blog, and a host for the weekly twitter chat #MGLitChat. Kris does query package critiques under the alter-ego @QueryGodMother and loves doing school visits for kids all over New England. Follow Kristine on twitter @KristineAsselin and learn more at http://www.kristineasselin.com.

Buy Any Way You Slice It here:

Kindle

Nook

Kobo

Leave a Reply

