Interview with Jessica Gunn, author of Gyre

Can you tell us a little about your book? Is it your debut novel?

GYRE is my debut novel, and it’s about what happens when a fledgling archaeologist accidentally teleports onto a classified Navy research vessel, awakening an ancient time-travel war between Atlantis and Lemuria, and placing the vessel in the crosshairs. There’s romance, adventure, powers, and a bit of archaeology. It’s kind of a crazy mix of things, but it’s fun! 🙂 You can read more about it on my Goodreads page here.

Are you a plotter or a free writer?

I’m a weird sort of hybrid. Usually I start with a vague idea, jot down a few notes, and start writing. I only plot a few chapters in advance because I’m afraid of “losing the magic”. But with GYRE, after I wrote the first book I heavily plotted the rest, not knowing if I’d ever land a publishing home for the book/series. Even then, things have changed along the way. I’ve found that the characters pretty much do what they want, regardless of how you go about it.

Is your book part of a series or a standalone?

GYRE is the first book of a series, but I’ve so far only gotten a contract for this one book, so we’ll see 🙂

Do you require silence when writing or do you listen to music?

It totally depends on the project and my mood. While writing and editing GYRE, I listened to a playlist from 8Tracks that had epic soundtrack music, but there weren’t words. That seems to be the sweet spot. If I end up singing along, I lose focus and start a dance party. Which is fun but unproductive 🙂

Are you writing your next book? Can you share a little about it?

Yes! I’m in between writing what would be the third in the GYRE series and a YA fantasy. The YA fantasy is a remix of Arthurian legend. I’ve been obsessed with it since watching Merlin.

How long were you writing before getting a publishing contract?

I’ve been writing since 8th grade. I know that sounds silly and I know a lot of people say that, but it’s true. That said, I’ve been writing to query since around 2009. Those weren’t really serious attempts, looking back on it now, but I went to my first writing conference in 2012 and that was the first time I pitched a novel to an agent. GYRE’s contract is my first 🙂

When does your book release?

GYRE releases February 1st, 2016 from Curiosity Quills Press, and I can’t wait!

Bio: jessica gunn

Jessica Gunn is a New Adult author and avid science-fiction and fantasy fan. Her favorite stories are those that transport the reader to other, more exciting worlds. When not working or writing, she can be found binge-watching Firefly and Stargate, or feeding her fascination of the ancient world’s many mysteries. Jessica also holds a degree in Anthropology.

To catch up with Jessica, follow her on Twitter (@JessGunnAuthor) or on her website, www.jessicagunn.com.

Leave a Reply

