Interview with K.E. Ganshert, author of The Gifting

Can you tell us a little about your debut novel? the gifting

The Gifting is my debut into young adult lit. It’s the story of Tess Eckhart, a girl who sees things nobody else can see in a world where nothing supernatural exists. At least, it’s not supposed to. After a major freakout during a high school party that lands her in a hospital, her family moves across country next to a nationally renowned facility for the mentally ill. Despite having to see a therapist at this facility, Tess is determined to fit in at her new school. She’s determined to be normal for once—a task that proves increasingly difficult, what with her seemingly prophetic dreams and growing conviction that Luka Williams—reluctantly popular, incredibly sexy, and intriguingly mysterious—is watching her every move.

It’s a bit of a genre mixture. There are definitely dystopian undertones, definitely some paranormal elements, a bit of gothic-like fantasy, suspense, adventure, and of course, romance.

Is it a standalone book or part of a series?

The Gifting is the first in a three-book series, all of which are now available.

Who inspired your main character?

Nobody in particular. I just had this idea of a girl who could see things nobody else could see and Tess slowly materialized.

Are you a plotter or do you just write whatever is in your head?

I’m a mutt. For my traditionally published books, which I write under my full name, Katie Ganshert, I’m definitely a plotter. I like to know exactly where the story is going before I start.

For this series, I had a general idea and then I started writing. At the time, I didn’t think I’d do anything with them. I was just writing the story for me. Part of the enjoyment came with discovering more and more of the story as I went. It’s been an incredibly fun adventure.

Do you require silence when writing or do you need background noise?

Silence, for sure. I can’t write to music and if anybody tries talking to me or interrupting, I get the crazy eyes.

Are you writing your next book?

I am! It’s not in the same genre. I’m currently working on my next Katie Ganshert novel, which has a deadline that I can’t ignore. My young adult adventure is taking a bit of a pause. I do, however, have another young adult story idea written down in a notebook, just waiting to be explored when the time is right.

Bio: headshot

K.E. Ganshert was born and raised in the exciting state of Iowa, where she currently resides with her family. She likes to write things and consume large quantities of coffee and chocolate while she writes all the things. She’s won some awards. For the writing, not the consuming. Although the latter would be fun. You can learn more about K.E. Ganshert and these things she writes at her website http://www.katieganshert.com.

Leave a Reply

