Interview with T. Damon, author of The Falling

Can you tell us a little about your book? Is it your debut novel?the falling

My debut novel, The Falling, is Book 1 of The Forest Spirit series. It’s the tale of a Forest that is swept into drastic upheaval when a protective Higher Spirit, Labete, falls from grace and threatens the sanctity and balance of the Forest’s kingdoms. King Alston, ruler of the nymphs, refuses to take action, thereby indirectly causing the Forest to succumb to the darkness. But hope is found in the form of Narena, a willful young nymph, along with her tree whispering brother Nyxen, and debonair warrior Kellen. Together, the three nymphs join forces with sage salamander Hawthorne, sassy warrior faery Sebillon, and several Forest witches, all desperate to stop Labete and save the kingdoms. All the while, Labete is dead set on preventing them from accomplishing the one thing that would lead to his demise– awakening the Yew, the Highest Spirit and only Spirit powerful enough to destroy him.

Are you a plotter or a free writer?

I am a free writer. I generally will think of an idea for a story, start writing, and it’s not until I am at least halfway done that I decide on how it should end. Very rarely do I know the ending to a story before I begin to write, and even in those cases it’s just a general idea.

Is your book part of a series or a standalone?

The Falling is Book 1 of the Forest Spirit series. Book 2, entitled The Haunting, was accepted for publication by Nightchaser Ink Publishing, the publishing house that put out The Falling. I imagine The Haunting will come out sometime early next year, or very late this year. But I don’t have a release date as of yet.

Do you require silence when writing or do you listen to music?

I generally require silence when I write. I don’t even want my husband speaking to me while I am in the midst of a story. Usually I have to write while my one year old naps and my husband is at work.

Are you writing your next book? Can you share a little about it?

My next book, The Haunting, is completed and in my publisher’s editing queue. Let’s just say that things are not completely resolved after The Falling, though it takes a whole generation before the darkness starts to flare up again. There’s a new cast of characters, and some old favorites return to help as well. The villain is different, and in my opinion, easier to relate to than Labete, but still diabolical and terrifying nonetheless. I think the title gives the reader a good idea of what starts happening in the Forest in Book 2.

How long were you writing before getting a publishing contract?

I’ve been writing my entire life, but didn’t start to seriously consider it as a career until about three years ago. About a year ago, I initially self-published The Falling after two years of waiting around for big publishers to get back to me, as well as the typical rejections one receives when submitting. I was picked up by indie publisher Nightchaser Ink about two months after I released the book, which I’m told is nearly unheard of in the industry. I just consider myself extremely fortunate for that to have happened.

When does your book release?

The Falling is currently available on Nightchaser Ink’s website, Amazon, Barnes and Noble.com, and on all e-readers. The Haunting will likely release sometime early next year.

Bio:

T. Damon enjoys exploring the paranormal, and all things magical, mystical, and mythical. Her interest in horror novels and movies sparked a never ending quest to scare herself silly, and she’s still awaiting the book or film that will prevent her from ever sleeping again. Aside from this, she spends a lot of her free time learning about astrology, crystals, and perfecting her methods of various divinations, such as tarot card readings.

Links:

T. Damon on Nightchaser Ink’s website: http://www.nightchaserink.com/#!t-damon/c1nkc (Here you can find all the links to purchase the book on an e-reader)
T. Damon’s blog: tdamon.wordpress.com
The Falling by T. Damon on Facebook: facebook.com/thefallingbook
The Falling on Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Falling-Book-one-Forest-Spirit/dp/1512235172/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1440098854&sr=8-1&keywords=the+falling+by+t+damon
The Falling at Barnes and Noble: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/the-falling-t-damon/1122050496?ean=9781512235173

Leave a Reply

