Interview with Heidi Kling, author of Not Okay, Cupid

Can you tell us about your books?

I’ve written all kinds of books: from serious contemporary (SEA; PAINT MY BODY RED), to high-stake fantasy (Spellspinners of Melas County), to my current rom-com series High School Heartbreakers, starting with NOT OKAY, CUPID which just released for Valentine’s Day. The second book in that series, MASQUERADE GIRL, launches Halloween 2016!
What are you currently writing?
I’m working on MASQUERADE GIRL–set in New York, is the story about the quirky, thoughtful daughter of a famous, meticulous actress, who feels out of place in her own life, until she stumbles upon a costume shop fueled by artsy misfits like herself.
How long have you been a published author? SEA, my debut with PenguinTeen, launched in 2010; I sold it in 2007.
If you could give any piece of advice to unpublished writers what would it be?  Work really, really hard. Read. Revise. Repeat. One common mistake early writers make it thinking their work is “done” long before it really is. Keep revising. Find a critique group. Network. Don’t think one “connection” can get you a publishing deal. That’s not how things work.
Who are your favorite authors?  I’m newly obsessed with Lauren Groff. She’s so incredibly talented. I like literary fiction, but I also like rich YA stories that make me cry: Gayle Forman, early John Green stuff, Jessi Kirby. Faves are:  Ernest Hemingway, Sarah Dessen, Zora Neale Hurston. I just finished The Nightingale and was sobbing. Isabelle is one of the best characters I’ve read in a while.
What are some of your favorite books to read again and again? The Sun Also Rises and The Beach. I’ve read both of those books probably ten times. I like high stakes, mind-expanding, travel stories where people aren’t necessarily behaving properly. 😉
Thanks for having me, Tanya! :))
😀 Heidi
Leave a Reply

