BLOG TOUR: EXCERPT AND GUEST POST BY STACY BARNETT MOZER FOR THE SWEET SPOT

BASIC DETAILSunspecified-6
THE SWEET SPOT
By Stacy Barnett Mozer SweetSpot_Cover_96dpi
Spellbound River Press
Publication Date: March 25, 2016
Paperback: 978-1-945017-00-1
EBook: 978-1-945017-01-8
Goodreads https://goo.gl/nbgdbu

ABOUT THE BOOK
When thirteen-year-old Sam Barrette’s baseball coach tells her that her attitude’s holding her back, she wants to hit him in the head with a line drive. Why shouldn’t she have an attitude? As the only girl playing in the 13U league, she’s had to listen to boys and people in the stands screaming things like “Go play softball,” all season, just because she’s a girl. Her coach barely lets her play, even though she’s one of the best hitters on the team.
All stakes now rest on Sam’s performance at baseball training camp. But the moment she arrives, miscommunication sets the week up for potential disaster. Placed at the bottom with the weaker players, she will have to work her way up to A league, not just to show Coach that she can be the best team player possible, but to prove to herself that she can hold a bat with the All-Star boys.

BUYING INFORMATION
Visit Spellbound River Press http://www.spellboundriver.com

GUEST POST
One of the questions I get most often about The Sweet Spot is, “Why did you decide to write a book about baseball?” Were you a sporty girl? The answer is not simple and really goes back to the question of, “Where do ideas come from?” Some books I write come from a small moments such as family
sitting in a restaurant having a strange conversation that I overhear. Other ideas come from the love of certain book genres. But most of the time it’s an experience or a love from childhood that comes out in one way or another. The idea for this book started with a need to tell the story of my strongest memories, a camping trip my family took from Long Island to Wyoming and when I was 8 years old. On the trip we rode horses, climbed mountains, almost got trampled by a herd of cows … the normal experiences of an 8 year old. But no matter how many ways I tried to tell this story, it came out dull. The problem was that I was way to close too what had really happened. In order to make my character stand out from me, I turned the story on its end and had my character wow the boys at one of the campsites by being an amazing baseball player. When beta readers read the book the scenes they loved best were the ones where my character played baseball so I added more scenes and it eventually became a completely different book. I was honestly surprised by this turn events. Where did the baseball come from? But the more I thought about it, the more I realized that baseball came from my childhood too. While I never played, baseball, or more specifically, the Mets, was a big part of my childhood. My father and I would go to games and even walked on the field of Shea Stadium for Banner Day. Baseball was part of my childhood as much as camping. So I guess it only made sense that one story led to the other.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR
Stacy Barnett Mozer is a third grade teacher and a mom. She started writing books when a class of students told her that there was no way that a real author who wrote real books could possibly revise their work as much as she asked them to revise. She’s been revising her own work ever since. Visit Stacy online at http://www.stacymozer.com. You can follow her on twitter at @SMozer and on Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/StacyMozerAuthor

GIVEAWAY
You can win a copy of The Sweet Spot at http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/72fd56883/?

Rafflecopter Html code:
a Rafflecopter giveaway

One thought on “BLOG TOUR: EXCERPT AND GUEST POST BY STACY BARNETT MOZER FOR THE SWEET SPOT

Leave a Reply

